About Us

The purpose of the Inter-jurisdictional Regulatory Collaboration Committee (IRCC) is to promote effective international collaboration concerning ‘best current practice’ building regulatory system, in particular those that are objective performance-based. This purpose necessitates interaction with other international bodies having compatible interests.


Appointment of new members to the IRCC will be by consensus agreement of Committee members. Applications would be expected to be from the primary national lead regulatory entity having experience in the development of that country’s building regulatory system, having the ability to make an effective contribution towards the achievement of the IRCC’s stated goals and can provide reliable information and knowledge about that country’s practices.

Applications for membership are to be submitted to the Secretariat in writing and be accompanied by supporting information on the experience, expertise and role in the country’s building regulatory environment and the contribution, including resource allocation, that is envisaged could be made to help achieve the IRCC purpose and goals.

All costs associated with the activities of the IRCC will be borne by the members

Continued membership of the IRCC requires active ongoing participation in its activities. In this regard, non-attendance at two consecutive IRCC meetings without justification by a member, or their nominated alternate, will be cause for review of membership. Should membership be terminated the above application process will need to be followed for re-admittance.

Membership of the IRCC will be subject to periodic review.

An individual, with the consensus agreement of Committee members, may also become an Affiliate of the IRCC where they have the potential to make a substantial contribution to advancing the goals of the IRCC through their experience and expertise in the development of ‘best current practice’ building regulatory systems.

Such individuals will ideally have the support of that country’s primary national lead regulatory entity to participate in the activities of the IRCC, but does not represent the views of that entity. An Affiliate does not have a capacity to formally participate in any matters requiring a decision of Committee members.


It is intended that ordinary meetings will be held at least once each year at a time and place agreed by the IRCC. Generally meetings will be rotated amongst the member countries.

Members can seek approval of the group for observers to attend meetings. This is to be obtained prior to the meeting. Any requests are to be forwarded through the Secretariat.

A representative of the host country will assist the Chair in organising the meeting in their country and participate as co-Chair.

The host country for a meeting has the discretion to invite individuals and representatives of organisations who have either acted as representatives of its membership or are involved in IRCC related activities in that country. Any invitations are to be confirmed with the Secretariat.

The host country has the option of nominating a contemporary topic for members to prepare for and workshop as part of a meeting’s proceedings.

Working Group

Working Groups may be established by agreement of the IRCC for all agreed tasks and any other relevant purposes.

Appointment Of Chair

A chair is to be appointed from and by members for a minimum 2 year term.

For a nomination to be considered at a meeting, a quorum of at least two thirds of members is required to be in attendance and can also consider any position received from a member by the Secretariat prior to the meeting.

Additional Information


Dr. IJsbrand van Straalen
Senior Scientist
Stieltjesweg 1, 2628 CK Delft, the Netherlands
Email: ijsbrand.vanstraalen@tno.nl


Ong See Ho
Managing Director
Building And Construction Authority
200 Braddell Road, Singapore 579700
E-mail: ong_see_ho@bca.gov.sg




Matt Davis
Director, Energy Efficiency
Australian Building Codes Board
e: Mark.Davis@abcb.gov.au




Dr. Rainer Mikulits
Managing Director
Austrian Institute of Construction Engineering
e: mikulits@oib.or.at




Phillip Rizcallah
A/Director Building Regulations,
Manager - NRC Construction,
Canadian Codes Centre




Bo jiang
Director of Standards & Codes Division
China Academy of Building Research (CABR)
e: jiangbo-cabr@163.com




Toshihiro Kamatani
Director for Building Technology Policy Analysis,
Housing Bureau,
Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism (MLIT)
e: kamatani-t2m5@mlit.go.jp
w: www.mlit.go.jp/index_e.html

Dr. Hiroshi Fukuyama
Director, Building Department,
National Institute for Land and Infrastructure Management (NILIM)
e: fukuyama-h92ta@mlit.go.jp
w: www.nilim.go.jp/english/eindex.html



New Zealand


Dave Robson
Manager, Building Performance & Engineering
Ministry of Business, Innovation & Employment
e: Dave.Robson@mbie.govt.nz
w: www.building.govt.nz




Dr. ir. IJsbrand van Straalen - IRCC Chairman
Senior Scientist,
e: ijsbrand.vanstraalen@tno.nl
w: www.tno.nl/



Dr. Vidar Stenstad
Senior Engineer,
Fire Safety Engineering and Civil Engineering Norway Building Authority
e: vidar.stenstad@dibk.no
w: www.dibk.no



Stephen Garvin,
Head of Building Standards Division,
Scottish Government
e: Stephen.Garvin@gov.scot



Ong See Ho – IRCC Secretariat,
Managing Director,
Built Environment Technology Centre
e: ong_see_ho@bca.gov.sg
w: www.bca.gov.sg

Heng Chai Liang
Senior Assistant Director,FSSD
e: Heng_Chai_Liang@scdf.gov.sg
w: www.scdf.gov.sg




Mr. Luis Vega
Deputy Directorate for Architecture and Building
Ministry of Public Works and Transport
e: lvega@fomento.es

Dr. Jose Antonio Junca
Head of Building Quality Area
Ministry of Public Works and Transport
e: jajunca@fomento.es

Juan Queipo de Llano
Section Head – Quality in Construction
Spanish National Research Council
e: jqueipo@ietcc.csic.es
w: www.csic.es




Ingrid Hernsell Norling
Head of Unit, Building and Planning
The Swedish National Board of Housing,
e: ingrid.hernsell.norling@boverket.se
w: www.boverket.se/




Judy Zakreski
Vice President of Global Services
International Code Council
e: jzakreski@ICCSafe.ORG
w: www.iccsafe.org

Brian Jay Meacham
Meacham Associates,
e: brian@meachamassociates.com
w: meachamassociates.com





Paul F. Everall, CBE
Chief Executive and Company Secretary, LABC
e: paul.everall@labc.uk.com
w: www.labc.uk.com